just curious...

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• I've benn working on a couple, completed maybe 50% of them, and i dont think i've done more then one in the same language. It's usually my method of learning a language... Currently i'm working on Win32 and DirectX programming. but that's been a project of mine for a while.
      Wort wort wort.
    • Don't feel too bad - I feel I've just got the hang of C++ and I've been working with it for nigh on 10 years. Maybe I'm just a slow learner, but I think that even though I'm using the same language, I'm not using it in nearly the same way I was 7, 5, or even 2 years ago.

Let it soak in a bit, and learn tricks from other programmers.
      Mr.Mike
      Author, Programmer, Brewer, Patriot
    • My major project for this term was to utilize DirectX 9.0c and create either a game or a simulation out of it. I decided to make my life the final semester of college a living hell and attempt an online FPS. Well after 8 months of developement (solo minus my partner doing mesh animation) I managed to present something to the class that last day of school that allowed us to run around and shoot the snot out of eachother with 5 weapons and a hell of a lot of ammo :D. Thanks to FMOD though I really didn't have to worry too much about the sound engine except in regards to server prediction (and attenutation of the sound so as not to waste network bandwidth) and translating of 3D sounds. As far as levels go, I decided rather than designing my own level format and editor I just "borrowed" the Quake III BSP format and tailored it to DirectX as opposed to OpenGL which really wasn't as much work as I thought it'd be (thank god for mesh vertices and index buffers :D).