Help understanding chapter 5

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Help understanding chapter 5

Let me preface this with letting you know that I am very new to c++ and programming in general, so my whole thought process may be completely wrong. I have been going through chapter 5, and I have to be honest, I am a bit lost. It seems to go through examples very fast, and I am struggling going over the source code, and linking them to what I see in the book. Here are my questions, please be gentle:

1. There are 3 files in the source code. There is GameCode.h, GameCode.cpp and GameCode4.cpp. GameCode.cpp is quite long, and has a lot of functions in it. I see it is where the members for the GameCodeApp is set up, however, I am a bit confused. Why does it not include GameCode.h? And how does it have access to those definitions without the includes? In fact, I can't seem to find anything that includes the GameCode.cpp either, it seems everything is running from the GameCode4.cpp, but I feel like I am just missing a key something.

2. I see that there are a lot of includes files that the book has not gone over yet. I am looking at this book as kind of a straight up tutorial, and would like to be able to compile my code to check if I have syntax errors and typo's as I go. Typing out the code helping reinforce the concepts, and helps me understand how it all comes together, then I have my own projects where I try out the ideas in other ways. However, in order to get it to compile, do I have to go through all the included files? For example:

GameCode.h has:

#include "../Mainloop/Initialization.h"
      #include "../GameCode4/BaseGameLogic.h"
      #include "../Graphics3D/SceneNodes.h"
      #include "../UserInterface/UserInterface.h"

And GameCode.cpp has:

#include "GameCodeStd.h"

#include "Dbt.h" // required for DBT_DEVICEREMOVECOMPLETE

#include "../MainLoop/Initialization.h"