c# as a scripting language?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• c# as a scripting language?

Hello all, and thanks to the authors for what's quickly become my favorite book on game development.

I'm a c# developer who's only recently taken the dive into game development. I was originally looking at XNA, but became spooked by the fact they seem to have abandoned it. Looking for alternatives, I decided to go the directX route, and found this book. Learning a lot so far, but I still have a long way to go, so forgive me if this seems a naive question.

I understand the benefits of using a scripting engine, but I wonder is there any reason not to use c#? I use it every day for work, so I'm able to get along quite quickly in it and on the surface at least, it seems to provide all the features one would expect or need from a scripting language.

I'm really just hoping someone knowledgable in the topic would take a moment to give me some thoughts, both for and against.

Cheers,
      Fearsidhe
    • You should check out Unity, they use C# for scripting as well as javascript(unityscript) and python(boo), I image that implementing C# is not quite as simple as Lua or Python, especially since in Lua's case it was actually designed from the ground up to be used in native code, it is definitely possible.
      PC - Custom Built
      CPU: 3rd Gen. Intel i7 3770 3.4Ghz
      GPU: ATI Radeon HD 7959 3GB
      RAM: 16GB

Laptop - Alienware M17x
      CPU: 3rd Gen. Intel i7 - Ivy Bridge
      GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M - 2GB GDDR5
      RAM: 8GB Dual Channel DDR3 @ 1600mhz
    • C# is more verbose than Lua or JavaScript.
      In Unity scripts written in C# 2 times bigger than in JavaScript. I don't think the strong typing of variables in C# or OOP features will be "killer feature" in case of scripting.

The post was edited 1 time, last by andjey ().