How to properly use this book?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• How to properly apply this book?

First a little bit about my self..... Im a Computer science student. well actually that might be the only relative information lol.

My question is to to rez and mike, and the rest of the community.... how are you guys using this book to aid your progression in game dev?

I'm a student and im particularly interested in good progressive study habits.

I've taken quite an interest in game dev. I started out with XNA and made a 2d brick breaker game and I would like to build on that.

Im currently blasting my way through GTGD's youtube videos using Unity on making a fun little first person shooter.

So relating to this book, I find my self actually reading it more than really doing any programming(like I said its fun to read) and honestly other than downloading the source I have not even touched programming with this book.

What kind of habits do you guys have ? What methods do you guys use that works for you with the book / progressing in game dev. How do you use / apply the book?

I have the GCC book and im hoping to combine it with
      Game engine architecture that I just bought
      (amazon.com/Game-Engine-Archite…son-Gregory/dp/1568814135)

to maximize my knowledge!

Thanks! :D

The post was edited 5 times, last by xCmac ().

• RE: How to properly apply this book?

I find it interesting that we've been getting this question a lot lately. People ask us how to use the book and, honestly, I don't really know how to answer this. The answer that's obvious to me is that you should use the book to help you learn in whatever way works best for you. Humans don't all learn in the same ways, we each have our own way of retaining information. In fact, something that works for one person might actually hinder another person.

That having been said, I'll try to address your specific concerns.