Can't Access Source Code

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Can't Access Source Code

Hello,

I am a new programmer who has just finished GCC4.

I enjoyed the book but found it extremely difficult to follow without deeper knowledge of the various fields of programming and game engine design described in the book.

I was a bit upset when I found out that I could not simply grab the source code off a disk or from a .zip file online.

So I tried the whole subversion thing (which was another learning curve) and I have yet to succeed in getting the "real" code. Yes I can copy/paste from google code, but I can't get all the project settings, include files, .libs, etc. just right and I don't think its worth my time to try that over just doing something simpler myself.

In short, I would love to start using the source code for this book (and would love some good executable files so I can see some of the features without having to spend tons of time trying to get the game to compile). Could someone tell me how to do that?

I installed Tortoise SVN and right clicked a folder, and clicked on import, pasted the URL given in an earlier thread, and encountered an error: Server sent unexpected return value (405 Method Not Allowed) in response to Error MKACTIVITY request for '/svn/!svn/act/938ea712-974f-e9-4b-90cc-d234e09d12cb'

If that makes sense to anybody more than it does to me, I'd appreciate help. If not I understand, and I'll have to move on to simpler material.

Thanks.
      A slowly aspiring game programmer...
    • Import is not the right option in your case, look for the option called check out, insert the URL and make sure that the checkbox "Fully Recursive" is set, this will ensure that everything in the SVN is cloned.

I believe the project files are in the MSVC folder, the library files however are in the downloads page of the google code page, which is labeled something like 3rd Party.zip