industry questions from a student

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• industry questions from a student

Mr. McShaffry (or other knowledgeable forum-goers),

I'm a student at the University of Cincinnati, over here in the armpit of America, where everything is grey and not too terribly exciting. I've dreamed of creating games since I was junior high, and have made several of them with a friend, though none of them involve much more than slightly complex C code. I went to a technilogically inept high school, so everything I know about programming I learned on my own, and until i was 16, I learned it on a 25mhz 386 (I was playing Ultima 6 while everyone else was playing Quake 2). I set myself towards computer science, and thus ended up in UC's engineering program, which is so creatively restricting (for people like me) that I switched into English, with focus on mythology and the occult.

The problem is that I still dream of creating games. For a long time, I assumed that this would happen only if I recieved a degree in some sort of engineering field, but I've been flipping through all sorts of books at Borders, and hope has been restored, especially after your mention of self-taught programmers on occasion being more valuable. I'm stuck as to what exactly I should be doing to get into the fray. I have the skills to get pretty much any degree I need, the problem is that I can't be as well-rounded as I'd like to be while in engineering. I've considered going into digital design, since I have pretty good art skills, but then I figured I'd be stuck modelling things, and leaning over the programmers' and designers' shoulders looking at the neat stuff they get to do.